Y’all know the drill by now, our good host, Madison Woods gives us a photo prompt to work from and we write a 100-word story based on said photo.

Here is this week’s image:

Image

Her story is here: http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/flash-fiction/you-wanna-piece-a-me-100-words/

There, we comment on her work and leave a link to our own. It’s helped build a wonderful little community of writers, one that I’m very happy to be a part of.

Anyway, enough babbling. My story for this week starts here…

.

.

The world is black and white. Always has been. The streets are empty of people but full of debris and destruction.

     A shifting, waving stream of red flows through the air from around the next corner, reaching my nose and filling me with a sense of dread.

     Red is the colour of death.

     My interest is piqued, however, and I’m compelled to investigate. Slowly, softly, I pad to the corner with my nose to the ground, following the scent.

     Peaking round the corner, I see my dread come to fruition.

     The dead walk.

 

     And they are hungry.

.

.

.

Please feel free to leave any feedback, as I’m always looking to learn!

