Hello all!

 

I’ve been away from my blog for quite a while now, initially to take a few weeks to finish writing my novel. Turns out that took a lot longer than intended!

I’m very happy to announce that I have finished the first draft. It took quite a while and even took a few surprising turns, even for me, but it stands at 123 pages (though that’s A4 pages within a word processor, so that may change with time) and a healthy 72,224 words.

There’s still a lot of work left to do – the first draft is only the beginning, after all – as there’s editing and whatnot, plus I haven’t even settled on a title yet. Anyway, I’ve just got to look into printing off a copy to read through with a red pen at hand, then I’ll start looking into getting it published. I know the odds of that happening are reasonably slim, but I also have self-publishing on the table as a back-up.

 

I’ll apologise for waffling on, but it’s a milestone I wanted to share as I’m pretty proud of myself. A short break is in order now, possibly with a return to Friday Fictioneers on the cards if I can figure out the change in format these days! If anyone wants to help with that, please feel free to let me know in the comments section below.

 

Time to sign off, but keep your eyes peeled for some new short stories appearing here at some point soon. Also, I’ve been considering a move into games journalism, so look out for a possible new blog appearing for reviews and other articles – if you’re interested in that kind of thing, of course…

 

 

Gaz

